• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
T5AUS

Seiko Chrono Sport

Hi guys, newbie here with a question on this 7A38-6020 Sports 100 Chrono which I recently picked up in a junk shop. I stuck in a new battery and she is firing away perfectly although I am not sure what the top left Chrono button does, I thought perhaps a light but nothing happens when pressed and it moves quite freely. The other three are fine, top right being stop & start of chrono , bottom right the chrono reset and bottom left the day date set.

The crystal is gouged and I know from searching on here, replacements are a problem so something I have to work on.

Another little niggle is the inner hours/minutes chapter ring, it seems to be slightly off set if you line it up with say the top 12 and bezel marks, could it have come loose and need re setting?

Also, are there any download instruction manuals available for these anywhere ?

Thanks for any help

SeikoSport1001_zps79da7a46.jpg

SeikoSport1002_zps194bc24a.jpg

Edited by T5AUS

SeikoSport1004_zpsa5152c35.jpg

Just a follow up, I took her apart today and realigned that chapter ring which I think has improved it although the main outer bezel, which I think is fixed, does not quite line up so I am going to have to remove the insert and move it a fraction anti clock wise.

Whilst I had the movement out the battery became dislodged and so now all chrono hands re set to the positions in the photo. I have removed and re attached the battery several times to try and get to reset correctly but they all just set to different positions around the dials ? Is there a magic default system to reset these to TDC ):

(hope I am asking these questions in the right forum, anybody out there?)