Omega Co-Axial Movements

18 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

Hi,

I'm considering getting another Omega watch and I've seen several with the Co-Axial movement. Whilst I can appreciate that these Co-Axs are a step improvement over 'normal' mechanical movements in that they suffer less friction, I have heard different views from those who already have them. Am I right in thinking that some Co-Axs were/are troublesome - and if so, which ones should I avoid on the secondhand market? Are the newer ones any better?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Posted (edited) · Report post

Fat fingers and an iPhone not a good combo

Edited by gaz64

Posted · Report post

I have had no first hand experience of them however a watchmaker I know had a customer who had one which went faulty back it went and a whole new movt was swapped in. Seems according to the watchie that even the service centres find them to difficult to work on

Posted · Report post

Hi, i can't comment on the earlier models but the new movement, caliber 8500, is THE one to get, other movements were standard ones with the escapment only changed to co-axial, the 8500 is built in house by Omega, they designed it completely around the movement, which they made 12% larger, with everything optimised for efficieny and low friction, all the wheels and gear train have high teeth count to lower friction, the balance spring is made from silicon which does not get affected by shocks and is non magnetic, it has two mainspring barrels which are also jewelled to reduce friction giving a 60 hr power reserve these do not work together, one is wound first, then the second one through differential gearing and the watch has a 4 year warranty and is extremely accurate!! Easily achieving the "Chronometer" award and would walk away with quite a few points if Kew Observatory was still going......

Have a look at www.omega.ch