Seiko 7t32

24 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

I have been left a non-working Seiko 7T32-6A5A which I would like to get working for sentimental reasons.

I have managed to dismantle it and remove the Circuit Block.

This had some corrosion which I have removed, and I have checked the resistance of the coils which appear OK.

It still appears to be completely dead although current is taken from the battery.

I am an electronics engineer and wonder if someone has a circuit diagram of the Circuit Block as there are a couple of holes which appear to cut the printed circuit tracks. I don't know if this is deliberate or not.

Information on the IC would also be useful.

Does anyone know if it is possible to obtain a new Circuit Block if the one I have is u/s?

Thanks

Posted · Report post

Hi Paul,

Thanks for the links - I had already found them which enabled me to dismantle the watch.

However there is no circuit diagram (schematic) of the Circuit Block and the quality of the picture is too poor to make out any details.

Posted · Report post

I don't know of a source for circuit diagrams for any quartz watch. I'm not saying that they don't exist or aren't available, just that I've never seen/heard of any & I wouldn't know where to start looking for one.

Would it not be easier to just get a new/replacement movement? I don't think it'd be hard to find another watch using this movement - the 7T32 is, I think, used in most Seiko alarm chronographs. A decent watch repairer would be able to fit the new movement into your existing case & also fit the old dial & hands to the movement as well. I'm pretty sure that if you were to send this watch off to Seiko for repair all they'd do is replace the movement as a whole - I may well be wrong but I don't think they'd take it apart to find out which track/component had failed!

Best of luck & let us know how you get on :thumbup:

Posted · Report post

Thanks for that.