• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Luke Orford

Methods for securing a watch dial

Hello, 

My names Luke, I'm a Jeweller / Silversmith by trade and currently in the process of making myself a watch, which I've always wanted to do and have zero experience in.

My problem is securing the dial in place in my case. What would be the best option ? Is it just a case of drilling and tapping small screws to hold it in place or using some sort of plastic clip.

I've attached pictures of where I'm at.

IMG_2352_zps5zyy5frn.jpg   IMG_2353_zpsujudeprx.jpg

The movement is a Myota 8215.

Look forward to any help anyone can give.

Thanks

Luke

Welcome to the forum! 

Aren't there post fittings to fix the dial to the movement?

yes the dial is fitted to the movement fine with the posts. What i'm struggling with is the dial staying in place in the watch case itself.

Now reading the title of this post i can see it might confuse! 

It looks to me as if the plastic movement holder may be too small as there seems to be a gap between the holder and the watch case. 

You may require a bigger movement holder. 

• Like 1

yeah I've been looking at some over images of movement holders, what i think I'm going to do is 3D print a small ring which i can fit in that gap and see if the tension holds it in place.

my one worry is that if the watch is hit it could just fall out of place.

If your measurements are accurate enough you should be ok. Just remember to create a bridge for the stem . 

If you do create a ring please put a photo or two on the forum as it would be interesting to see it especially if your idea works.