• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Dave098

Dead Timex Model 63 Quartz

I recently acquired this Timex Model 63 quartz complete with box and papers. It's a great looking watch in great shape...but it won't run.

I installed a 303/374 cell, but no luck. I'm certainly no expert, but I don't see any obvious problems like broken connections.

I love the watch, but I can't justify spending a lot of money to fix it (presuming it's reparable).

Does anybody see any obvious problems with the movement? Are there any steps I can take to rule out simple problems? I've done some simple watch repairs myself, but I have zero experience with this kind of movement. 

5aGla90.jpg

cKy0Fht.jpg

Give Simon2 a shout on the forum. If anyone knows it will be him. :thumbsup:

• Thanks 1

Hey Dave head over to watch repairs section, Simon has his own section  :thumbsup:

If all else fails I'd be glad to take a look. Parts maybe a problem.

If Simon can't help, you could email Greg at Woodland Technical Services. :yes:

The problem is these will normally either work or not! There's no "halfway house" with them. Visually it looks complete, however this is no guarantee all is well in the electronics side of things. It's been a while since I've poked around a 52 type movement. They are nice when they are working and can usually be regulated to a fairly good accuracy! :thumbsup:

a few more tips.  

- check the circuit board is not cracked. You can actually remove the board and run a jumper across the terminals.  It will not run correctly but this tells you if all else is running.

- insert the battery and apply light pressure to hold it in place.  than give the balance a flick.  does it attempt to sing at all?