• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Sign in to follow this  
Henrik Barlach

Is this a fake Poljot?

Hello 

Im totally new in this watch thing.
Just bought my first watch, a Seiko 5.

Was surfing on Etsy and found this watch from Poljot and the seller writes a bit blurry (to me) that is a vintage from 70's
The thing is that the text in the watch are in english!!
In the 70's it was USSR and my guess wasa that it should be in russian or any of sort of "eastern" languages.

Am I correct?

il_fullxfull.1239971632_gkwa.jpg

Best wishes
Henrik

Hi Henrik and welcome to the forum. It was quite common for Soviet era watches that were produced for export to have English script on the dial rather than cyrillic. That said, I'm almost 100% sure the watch above is "redialled" and not completely original. Although there aren't too many completely fake Russian watches around, there are a hell of a lot of frankens, fantasy watches and redials coming out of eastern Europe so it's worth being careful when buying from Etsy/eBay.

Hi Lampoc

Thank you for the welcome.
I also had my doubt that it wasnt restored, but didnt know they used english.
So you are saying that the original dial would have been in cyrilic, but the new one had the writting in english.
The price I also found "nearly to good to be true" approx 120 £.
Personally I dont care if its restored, but it would have been nice that is was as the original fx cyrilic.
Do you think the clock inside is original?

Best wishes
Henrik