• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
RockingZeebra

Sportsman and similar

I'm pretty new to this watch appreciation lark and am discovering new favourites all the time. One style of watch has got me hooked though, not that I'm in any position to afford one unfortunately. It's the 1960's Seiko Sportsmatic, Sportsman, Champion , Skyliner etc range. I love the range of colours available, must be half man/half magpie I reckon. Every one I find on the Bay seems to be in the States, were they available in Britain when new? Has there been a previous thread on this forum covering them? Is there any similar watches that I can look out for?

Regards

Dave

Dear Dave - and may I congratulate you on your user name - welcome to the Forum.

I have been looking at the models or model ranges that you mention, and I would suggest that these watches - not always branded with the model names you mention - are all aesthetically related and fall into a category that I would call "collectors' staples." This basic style of Seiko mechanical watch is certainly well-represented in Britain and, I suspect, all other Seiko export markets. The watches are decent quality, date to the early and mid-1960s, and represent the beginnings of effective competition from Japan against the then dominant Swiss watch industry. Today, they tend to be an inexpensive way into collecting vintage mechanical watches, and they are often still in working order, whether as hand-wind or mechanical models.:)

Mr Levity    3,733