• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MartinC

Pocket watch ID?

4 posts in this topic

Hi all,

Found this forum after a google search and am after some help.

Bought a british crows foot marked pocket watch today that has been sold after issue (s stamp) but there are no makers names stamped anywhere on it.

Bezel and crystal are plastic, it winds ok and runs well unless you turn it upside down.

15 jewel, swiss made. Not seen a dial that looks like this either apart from an elgin one that was similar. Pics below, serial number on the back is 005862, on the inside of the back case the number is 3400678. I'm a total novice in these so any help would be greatly appreciated.

https://postimg.org/gallery/s2rt3jg8/

Google GSTP pocket watch or something like that and you'll find a forum posting (different forum I believe) or a blog post with all the brands that made such watches for the british military. I believe there were 6-7 of them but I can't remember what they were. I know one of them was Cyma.

I think dear gimli is your best bet on this one, Martin. I do like researching the identity of watches, but this one is a bit of a mystery.